Gippstar Awards Night 2018

DSC 9611 - Gippstar Awards Night 2018

Preniere 300x225 - Gippstar Awards Night 2018

The 58th Annual Gippstar Awards were held on Thursday 16th August at the Premiere Function Centre.

The Gippstar Awards have a long and proud history and recognise high level sporting achievement by talented Gippslander’s across a variety of different sporting pursuits. We thank the 6 LGA’s, Wellington, Latrobe City, Baw Baw, Bass Coast, East Gippsland and South Gippsland, who proudly sponsor Gippstar. The Awards evening was also proudly supported by the Premiere Function Centre.

There were 25 awards received by the successful nominees for the monthly awards from July 2017-June 2018 in both Open and Junior categories. The overall winner for the Annual Open Award was Aislin Jones for Clay Target Shooting and the Annual Junior Award winner was Ruby Storm for her sport of Swimming.

Each year Gippstar has four additional awards.

The annual awards are:

Gippstar Team of the Year: Given to a Gippsland Team based on their performance over the Gippstar year.

  • This was awarded to Moe Football Netball Club U16s Football Team

Gippstar Club of the Year: Given to a Gippsland club based on their club achievements over the Gippstar year.

  • This was awarded to Bairnsdale Golf Club

Gippstar Special Achiever Award: Provided for outstanding service to sport over a significant period of years.

  • This was awarded to Don Wight (Umpire) & Joseph Auciello (Soccer)

Gippstar Gippsland Champion: To receive this award the athlete must have commenced their sporting career with a Gippsland Club and/or Association, and continued to achieve in their sport outside of the Gippsland area, whilst maintaining family connections in Gippsland.

  • This was awarded to Jarryd Roughead – AFL

Barry Switzer was inducted into the Gippstar Hall of Fame on the night. Barry Switzer has had a long & distinguished career in sport across Gippsland both as a competent sports person in his own right, but most importantly as a sporting administrator including 14 yrs as CEO of GippSport. Barry’s elevation into the Gippstar Hall of Fame recognises his outstanding contribution over many years, as an active member of the voting panel, Master of Ceremonies of numerous awards evenings and a vital contributor to the on- going success of the Gippstar Awards.

Congratulations to all the award recipients.