Meet the Team

The Gippsland Sports Academy is fortunate to have a small but extremely dedicated team providing outstanding service to all stakeholders.

A strong balance of community representatives proudly and selflessly commit their time to ensure the Gippsland Sports Academy continues to deliver the best level of service to aspiring Gippsland athletes.


Board Members

Mr Jim Vivian

Chair Person
Clay Target Shooting / ISH
Jim is the current Chair of the GSA board after retiring from the EO position of the GSA in 2018.  Jim was previously in Executive roles with Federation Training.  Jim is currently on the Advisory panel for ISH, Golf, CTS and on the Finance Committee.

Ms Jenni Lewis

Jennifer is the Workforce Development Manager at Harness Racing Victoria, establishing high performance and elite athlete pathways in the sport of harness racing. She is a graduate of the Gippsland Community Leadership Program 2019 and was a teacher of Equine programs with Community College Gippsland until 2021. Jenni held volunteer roles in ...

Ms Tania Ryan

Tania is a resident of Bass Coast Shire and is currently the CEO of Gippsland Multi Cultural Services and is passionate about promoting inclusion and equal access for all. Tania has a long association with Volleyball in South Gippsland and has past experience with the GSA as a parent of ...

Ms Jeni Hardy

Jeni is a resident of Baw Baw Shire and has had a long association with netball in that region, mainly with the Ellinbank Football/Netball Club. Jeni is currently the Manager of People Culture and Organisational Development with Solar Victoria.

Ms Rachael Millar BA/BCom (PR/Accounting)

Rachael is an experienced marketing manager, having worked in private, government and not-for-profit industries for the last 15 years. In a professional capacity, Rachael is passionate about user experience, service design, process improvement and writing and communicating in an easy-to-understand way.   Currently the marketing manager at Latrobe Health Services, Rachael works ...

David Roberts

Board Member
David has had a long involvement in sport in Gippsland,  both through employment and as a volunteer.  He has been President of Gippsland Pacers and Latrobe City Energy (Basketball state teams) and has worked for the Australian Sports Commission, GippSport, and the Latrobe Valley Authority (LV Sports & Community Initiative).    ...

Mr Howard Williams

Howard has a teaching background and a history of fostering children’s fitness and sporting achievement. He is trained in governance and associated with volleyball in many roles. Howard convenes the Board’s Programs subcommittee, is the representative on the Volleyball program and a member of the East Gippsland Sports ...

Mr Darrell White

Board Chairman 1997-2012. Darrell has a long association with tennis and football as player and administrator, now with lawn bowls. He continues to share his experience on the GSA Tennis Advisory Panel. Darrell is Chair of the Gippstar Panel and well known as Councillor with Latrobe City Council since 1997

Ms Sandra Timmer-Arends

Deputy Chair Person
Sandra is Head of Sport, Traralgon Campus at St Pauls Grammar School in Traralgon.  Sandra has an interest in Netball and represents the Board on the Netball Advisory Panel.  Sandra is also active on the Programs Sub Committee.

Finance Subcommittee

Programs Subcommittee

Sponsorship Subcommittee

Advisory Panel

Coaching Staff

Service Providers