2019 Swimming Program

Swimming is a program that has experienced a lot of success, with many athletes competing at state and national level competitions. The swimming program owes much of its success to the highly accredited satellite coaches from around Gippsland who are under the guidance of Coach Co-ordinator Brian Ford.  The Swimming Program has been proudly sponsored by the Morwell Bowling Club for many years and continues to also be supported by Gippsland Swimming & Swimming Victoria ensuring the sport and the program are progressing with the best intentions for all involved. The program boasts former Academy athlete and Olympic swimmer, Ashley Delaney as its patron.

This years program will be focused on specialist coaching with sessions run by former Australian Head Coach Leigh Nugent.

2019 Program Standards


Development standards


Performance standards


2019 Training Dates

All sessions 6am – 11.45am  for development squad and 6am – 2:15pm for performance squad (approx)

  • Saturday 20th July – Induction and Training session – Churchill (will include Nutrition Breakfast session)
  • Saturday 12th  October – South Gippsland SPLASH, 52A Roughead St, Leongatha
  • Saturday Feb 1st – Warragul (will include Psychology session)
  • ACE Day – TBC

Support Staff

  • Brian Ford (Coach Co-ordinator)
  • Dean Gooch (Head Coach)
  • Leigh Nugent (Specialist Coach)
  • Dylan Muir (Assistant Coach)
  • Paul Myers (Assistant Coach)
  • Sam Fenton (Strength & Conditioning)

Advisory Panel

  • Brian Ford (Coaching Co-ordinator)
  • Jackie Madden (Gippsland Swimming, GSA Board Rep)
  • Dean Gooch (Head Coach)
  • Anita Pistrin (GSA E.O)


Performance Squad

  • Luke Muir
  • Cooper Quaife
  • Josh Wight
  • Sophie Mckenzie
  • Trinity O’keefe
  • Ash Mihaly
  • Bridget Cain
  • Caydence Bezzina
  • Elayna Pistrin
  • Joel Baillie
  • Jordyn Cargill
  • Molly Cargill
  • Neisha Ablett
  • Ruby Storm
  • Emily Beecroft
  • Jess Emmett

Development Squad

  • Arki Vardy
  • Hannah Sheppard
  • Katie Kerby
  • Kiana Wedlock
  • Poppy Wheeler
  • Tamieka Ross
  • Hannah Simmons
  • Nicolette Wight
  • Riley Harris
  • Abby Warner
  • Aidan Bell
  • Eliza Watts
  • Logan Archibald
  • Will Pendergast
  • Chelsea Spencer
  • Mollie Dennis
  • Zoe Binns