Gippstar – Annual Awards evening

The 61st Annual Gippstar Awards were held on Thursday 9th December at the Morwell Bowling Club.

The Gippstar Awards have a long and proud history and recognise high level sporting achievement by talented Gippslander’s across a variety of different sporting pursuits.

There were 15 awards received by the successful nominees for the monthly awards from November 2020 – June 2021 in both Open and Junior categories, this was a shorter year due to the impacts of Covid. The overall winner for the Annual Open Award was Alex Vuillermin, of Morwell, for her sport of Rowing. The Annual Junior Award winner was Jordyn Cargill, of Traralgon, for his sport of Swimming

Each year Gippstar has four additional awards:

  • Gippstar Team of the Year: Given to a Gippsland Team based on their performance over the Gippstar year.
    • Unfortunately this was not awarded this year. The lack of sport during Covid meant no nominations
  • Gippstar Club of the Year: Given to a Gippsland club based on their club achievements over the Gippstar year.
    • This was awarded to Stratford Football and Netball Club
  • Gippstar Special Achiever Award: Provided for outstanding service to sport over a significant period of years. This year we awarded three people :
    • Brian Ford from Traralgon for his service in Swimming
    • Jenny Mills from Yinnar for her service in Netball
    • Jack Huxtable from Morwell for his service in Football
  • Gippstar Gippsland Champion: To receive this award the athlete must have commenced their sporting career with a Gippsland Club and/or Association, and continued to achieve in their sport outside of the Gippsland area, whilst maintaining family connections in Gippsland.
    • This was awarded to Sophie Molineux – Cricket
  • Robert Goldie was inducted into the Gippstar Hall of Fame on the night. Robert Goldie has had a long & distinguished career in sport across Gippsland, both as a competent sports person in his own right, but most importantly as a sporting administrator. Robert’s elevation into the Gippstar Hall of Fame recognises his outstanding contribution over many years, as an active member of the voting panel and a vital contributor to the on- going success of the Gippstar Awards.

We congratulate all the award recipients.